Life, writing, etc.

Write What You Know


So starting on the 1st of April I will be participating in Script Frenzy’s challenge of 100 pages in 30 days. It’s a lot like NaNoWriMo but for scripts. I’m looking forward to it because I epically failed the NaNoWriMo challenge. It was my first year with that challenge and this is my first year with this one. I’ve been tossing around ideas as to what to write about for a couple of weeks and I thought I had one pegged about nice guys finishing last but now I’m rethinking it. I’m reminded of the old adage “write what you know.” Well, there are a few things that I do know and I think that I’m going to go with the whole single father angle. My pending title is going to be Almost Thirty something. I’ll be posting my progress at http://almostthirtysomething.wordpress.com/ and hope to have it updated daily. So I guess it’ll be sorta based on a true story which will be my life. I’ll obviously be taking some creative liberties but I think the core of the story is going to be true for the most part. I’ve made this decision because I need to write what I know so I have the most success in completing this challenge. I’ve had a lot of inspiration over theses last few days, weeks, months and years and think that it’ll turn out at least readable.

I think what’s really got me in the mood to write this script about these things in my life is because I’ve come to realize, once again, that the dating scene or lack thereof is quite, how should I put this, It sucks balls. I don’t know what it takes to be able to find someone anymore. Not only is it difficult for someone like me to be able to find someone but the whole process seems daunting and frustrating. Well, my new mantra is whatever happens happens so I’m just going to go with that and see where it takes me.

All in all it’s going to prove to be an interesting month. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to at least complete the challenge even though it might be total utter crap. Who knows but I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

