Life, writing, etc.

CUT TO:


INT. DENVER POST NEWS OFFICE – DAY
JACK walks into his cubicle that he shares with DAVID SINGER. DAVID is working away as JACK gets situated to begin work
DAVID
Hey Jack. Hows it going this morning?
JACK
(sighs)
Just fine DAVID how are you?
DAVID
Dude, you are not going to believe what I was doing last night. Go on take a guess.
JACK
Come on man its too early in the morning for this shit.
DAVID
Dude, seriously. You’re going to flip. Just guess.
JACK
(irritated)
Fine. You hooked up with some chick last night. I don’t know.
DAVID
You’re never gonna believe who. Try and guess.
JACK
(more irritated)
Just fucking tell me.
DAVID
You ready for this? Sue.
JACK
Sue, from accounting Sue?
DAVID
Yep, and let me tell you man she is one freaky chick. The shit she’s into would make you go cry man. She a tigress in the sack man. So when are you gonna finally hook up with someone? You’re always bitching about being alone. What about Kelly. I bet she’d jump you if you wanted her.
JACK
(sighs)
I doubt it.
JACK turns around and logs onto his computer and brings up Connections, a dating website.
DAVID (BACKGROUND)
Dude you could totally tap that. I bet she’s into all kinds of crazy sex. You should go for it.

BACK TO:

INT. JACK HOUSE – LIVING ROOM – NIGHT
JACK walks into though the door home from work. Hangs up his coat and grabs some FOOD and turns on the TV. He flips through the channels and all thats on are romantic movies and happy couples together. JACK turns the TV off and goes to his computer and brings up the CONNECTIONS dating site and looking through the list of women. He finds the profile of JILL, a 28 year old with red hair and hazel eyes. JACK stares longingly at her picture and sighs
JACK
She’d never go for a guy like me. She’s too amazing to even want a guy like me
The PHONE rings
JACK
Hello?
THERESE
Hey Jackie what are you up to tonight? You wanna go do something?
JACK
Not tonight T. Work sucked and I’m tired and I think I’m just gonna go to bed.
THERESE
All the more reason to go out and have some fun. You said that the kids are at their mothers right? So lets go get hammered. It’ll be good for you. Maybe you’ll even meet someone.
JACK
(uneasy)
As much as that sounds like fun I don’t think so.
THERESE
Come on Jackie, its been 6 months since Tara dumped you. I think its time you got yourself back out there. How about we just get you laid huh?
JACK
T, really I don’t think
Theres a knock at the door. JACK answers it. He’s surprised
THERESE
(forceful yet bouncy)
I’m not taking no for an answer. I’ve let you sulk this long. You’re my best friend and I love you but we’re going out tonight so get changed.
JACK looks at her with contempt but shrugs and goes to change.

CUT TO:

INT./EXT. THERESE’S CAR – NIGHT
THERESE is singing along to the radio while JACK just looks out the window.
THERESE
Awe, quit looking like I just killed your puppy. We’re gonna have a blast tonight. I’m taking you somewhere special
JACK
Where’s that?
THERESE
You’ll just have to wait and see not won’t ya.

CUT TO:

EXT. HAVEN NIGHT CLUB – NIGHT
JACK and THERESE stand in line a the night club. There is a line 20 feet long.
JACK
(annoyed)
Why’d you bring me here?
THERESE
I told you it was a surprise.
JACK
You know I hate night clubs.
THERESE
Hey, we’re only here so we can see what out there ok? Lets stay for half and hour and if you wanna go we’ll go ok?
JACK
Fine. But don’t expect me to dance or anything.
THERESE
(snickering)
Of course not. We’re trying to get you a chick not drive them away. Besides, there’s this girl I know that’s supposed to be meeting up with me here. I think you’ll like her.
JACK
I doubt it.

CUT TO:

INT. HAVEN NIGHT CLUB – NIGHT
The club is filled with people dancing and talking and drinking. Pop and hiphop dance music is blaring. JACK and THERESE set at a table and a waitress walks up.
WAITRESS
(loudly)
What can I get you?
THERESE
(loudly)
Gimmie a COSMO
WAITRESS
(loudly)
And what about you sunshine?
JACK
(not as loud)
Just a beer.
The waitress walks away. JACK looks around at all the people then turns to THERESE
JACK
Half an hour right?
THERESE
(rolling her eyes)
Yes but I’ll bet you’ll wanna stay longer once my friend shows up.
The waitress comes back and drops off their drinks. JACK and THERESE take their glasses.
THERESE
(A toast! To the most awesomest best friend in the whole wide world!)

They toast their glasses and drink. Jack scans the crowed again and then notices that Tara is on the dance floor.
JACK
(nervous and panicked)
Shit! Fuck! Why me! Why did I let you drag me here.
THERSE
Jackie whats the matter?
JACK points towards TARA
THERESE
Oh! Well fuck that bitch. Don’t let her being here ruin your good time. Just don’t even worry about it ok. I doubt she’ll even notice you’re here.
JACK
Yeah just like when we were together.
THERESE
(sympathetically)
Jackie! I’m sorry, you know that’s not what I meant. Look, lets go to the other room. Its more chill back there.
JACK
(frustrated)
I knew this was a bad idea.
JACK downs his beer picks up his coat and leaves. He passes by JILL as he walks out.
THERESE
Jackie. Don’t be like that. Come on, lets have a good night.
THERESE goes after JACK but runs into JILL
JILL
Therese! Hey, I’m glad I found you. So where’s this guy you wanted me to meet?
THERESE
(saddened)
Shit.

Leave a Reply

