Life, writing, etc.

Flash Back


INT. JACKS CAR – NIGHT
We see JACK driving down the road listening lost in thought about his ex girlfriend

CUT TO:

INT. COFFEE SHOP – DAY
In a busy coffee shop JACK goes up to pick up his COFFEE. He bumps into TARA. She drops her purse. JACK and TARA go to pick up the purse at the same time. They bump heads and laugh.

FADE TO:

INT. COFFEE SHOP – DAY
JACK and TARA are sitting at a table talking, smiling and laughing.

FADE TO:

EXT. STREET – DAY
JACk and TARA are walking down the sidewalk talking and holding hands

FADE TO:

INT. JACKS HOUSE – LIVING ROOM – NIGHT
JACK and TARA are kissing madly while walking through the front door. They are moving all over the living room tripping over furniture and talking each others clothes off. They make it to the bedroom and close the door. Zooming back from the closed door

FADE TO:

INT. JACKS BEDROOM – MORNING
JACK and TARA are lying in bed cuddling and talking. JACK caresses TARA’s hair and face while staring into her eyes.

FADE TO:

INT. JACKS LIVING ROOM – DAY
JACK and TARA are arguing. TARA is walking back and forth crying while JACK sits in disbelief. JACK gets up to to hold TARA but she pushes him away. TARA picks up her purse and leaves. JACK runs to the porch calling for her but she’s gone.

FADE TO:

INT. COFFEE SHOP – DAY
JACK is sitting at the table where he first talked with TARA. JACK is stricken with grief while he drinks his coffee.

FADE TO BLACK.

FADE IN:

INT. JACKS BEDROOM – MORNING
The phone rings and wakes JACK up. As he reaches for it he knocks over the clock and lamp.
JACK
(groggy)
Hello
THERESE
Good morning sunshine. What happened to you last night?
JACK
You know what happened. I couldn’t be there I had to go. Just seeing her kills me.
THERESE
Jackie, you know I love you right?
JACK
Yeah
THERESE
Then you really need to move forward from her. She’s not worth all this. You need to get back out there. My friend was really bummed that you bailed last night. She was really looking forward to meeting you.
JACK
You know I hate it when you try to set me up.
Jack gets out of bed and walks out of the room

CUT TO:

INT. KITCHEN – MOMENTS LATER
THERESE
I know. Look, I’m just trying to get you to be happy again. I miss seeing you smile all the time. You’re just in a funk and I’m just trying to help.
JACK
(irritated)
Well then try something else ok. You know I hate going to the club let alone having you set me up with someone.
THERESE
Ok, ok. Fine. Well if you won’t meet my friend then at least do something that makes you happy. Come on, I mean whens the last time you picked up your camera huh? You used to carry that thing around with you everywhere.

FADE TO:

EXT. CITY SIDEWALK – DAY
JACK is walking around looking for something to photograph.
(VO) THERESE
Tell you what. Grab your camera and go takes some pictures, ok and I’ll meet you downtown for lunch.
(VO) JACK
Fine but you’re payin’
Jack starts taking pictures of the buildings and cars. He walks up to a homeless person and asks to take his picture. The man gives him a look and spits at his feet. Disgusted JACK moves on. He zooms in on some kids playing down the street and takes their picture. A woman swiftly walks up and berates JACK and is yelling at him for taking the picture. He walks away with the woman still yelling in the background. He takes a photo of a police officer directing traffic. The officer gives him a dirty look. Frustrated he walks on. He see JILL and zooms in on her. He is captivated by her beauty but then decides not to take the picture.

CUT TO:

INT. RESTAURANT – DAY
JACK sits down in a booth where THERESE is already sitting.
THERESE
Its about time. I already ordered. What took you so long?
JACK
(frustrated)
Hey, I was only doing as told.
THERESE
So, did you have any fun?
JACK
(sarcastically)
Oh yeah, I love it when I get spit at yelled at and accused of being a pedophile and nearly getting a ticket.
THERESE
(sympathetically)
I’m sorry Jackie, I honestly thought that it would help.
JACK
Well I guess you were wrong. Look I’m sorry. I’m grateful to have you looking out for me. I’m just in a funk and don’t know how to get out of it.
THERESE
Maybe you just need to get laid. How long has it been.
JACK
(scoffs)
If I could remember I would tell you.
THERESE
Damn! If you weren’t my brother from another mother I’d do you but I think it’d just be too weird ya know.
JACK
Gee thanks… Well that makes one.
THERESE
Come on. There’s gotta be at least one lovely lady you’ve lusted after. What about at work?
JACK
Well there is this one girl at work but… No, she’d never go for a guy like me.
THERESE
(forcefully)
Fuck that. I know you and you can do this. I want you to go and fuck that chick do you got me? You are gonna meet up with her and seduce her and fuck her til you’re dead.
JACK
How romantic
THERESE
I’m serious. Do this and I’ll leave you alone for a while ok?
JACK
(defeated)
Fine I’ll do it. I’ll go fuck the girl from work. Can I order some lunch now?

CUT TO:

INT. DENVER DAILY NEWS – DAY
JACK walks into the office and sits down at his desk. He logs into his computer. He slightly stands up and looks towards KELLYS desk. Kelly is working and talking with a co-worker. DAVID walks up behind JACK.
DAVID
Hey there JACK. Say, uh, what are you doing?
JACK
(nervous)
Shut up and get down!
JACK grabs DAVID and pulls him down.
DAVID
(confused)
What are we doing?
JACK
I’m working up the nerve to go talk to KELLY.
DAVID
(excited)
Oh shit! you go dude! But whats with the hiding? Just go up and talk to her man. She’s prime for the picking. Hell I would have tapped that a while ago if I haven’t hooked up with SUE.
JACK
I can’t just walk up and talk to her. What if she blows me off or laughs at me?
DAVID
Dude, just walk up to her and talk to her
JACK
Ok I’m gonna do it.
DAVID
Go to her dude.
JACK confidently makes his ways over to KELLYS desk.
DAVID (BG)
Its all you man. You got this.
JACK walks up to KELLYS desk. KELLY is working on a report when JACK arrives at her desk
JACK
(nervous)
Hi!
KELLY
(confused)
Hello.
JACK
So yeah… what… I mean… uh… how are you?
KELLY
(quizzical)
Fine.
JACK
Right, of course you are… um… so…
KELLY
Can I help you?
JACK
Uh yeah… I mean yes… um do you know where JEFF is. I have some things I need him to review before we go to press.
KELLY
I don’t really know.
JACK
Oh… ok well I just thought I saw you talking to him earlier you might know.
KELLY
(smiling, noticing his nervousness)
Nope but I’ll tell him you’re looking for him if you see him.
JACK
Great. Thanks… yeah cause I need him to approve the new layout I’ve been working on and… You know what, never mind.
JACK turns around and slowly walks back to his desk. He looks up at DAVID who have a excited and has his tumbs up. JACK shakes his head. DAVID motions for him to turn around.
KELLY
Hey JACK.
Jack turns around looking defeated.
JACK
Yeah?
KELLY
Are you doing anything tonight?
JACK
Me? No not really.
KELLY
A few of us from work were gonna go to Paulie’s and grab a drink after work. Wanna come?
JACK
(optimistic)
Yeah, sure! Who else is going?
KELLY
Me, SUE, and RICK from classifieds.
JACK
Oh, ok. great.
KELLY
Oh, could you make sure not to tell DAVID.
JACK
(confused)
Sure, I guess.
KELLY
I only ask because SUE isn’t too fond of DAVID right now so it’d be great if you could do that.
JACK
No problem
KELLY
Great well, we’re all gonna just meet up there at about six. Ok?
JACK
Sure. I’ll definitely be there.
KELLY
(shyly)
Great, I can’t wait.
Jack walks back to his desk feeling accomplished. Jack sits back down.
DAVID
You player. Did you ask her out?
JACK
Actually she asked me out tonight to Paulie’s.
DAVID
I love that place. Want me to come as your wingman
JACK
Actually, no. She specifically said not to tell you so you wouldn’t show up and I’d appreciate it if you didn’t. Don’t fuck this up for me man.
DAVID
Alright dude. Its cool. I wont mess this up for you.
JACK
(gratefull)
Thank you.

CUT TO

INT. PAULIES BAR – NIGHT

Leave a Reply

