Life, writing, etc.

FADE TO:


I have been slacking in updating my blog to my newest pages. I can assure you that I am now at 60 pages and 18 days into screens I’m really enjoying the script and its going places I never thought it would go. I am really looking forward to finishing this because I have a lot of other script ideas that I want to get done. With this current script I am taking pieces of my life and changing a few things around and putting them in. With my next script idea it’s gonna be my life basically but more movie like. My ultimate goal would be to shoot it myself. I really want to get this done and hopefully that will come to fruition. In the mean time I will post what I have written so far. I also want to note that I removed the flash back scene entirely and switched it up with just regular dialog. I think it works better this way. This is also the only major edit that i will be doing before May. So enjoy.

EXT. PAULIES BAR – NIGHT
JACK walks into PAULIES BAR
INT. PAULIES BAR – NIGHT
JACK walks in and looks around. The bar is an average sized bar with a couple of pool tables in the back and some dart boards. The bar is about half full. There’s Rock music playing in the background. JACK sees his KELLY. KELLY sees JACK and waves at him to come over. Also seated at the table is SUE and MIKE who also works at the paper. JACK walks over to the table and sits down.
KELLY
Glad you could make it. I was afraid you weren’t going to come.
JACK
(sheepishly)
Yeah, I came. I don’t normally go out during the week so I though I’d give it a shot.
SUE
Is a bar just not your scene or something?
JACK
No, no its just that usually I have my kids during the week and since they live with me I usually don’t get to go out much.
MIKE
Wow, you don’t see that very often do you? Usually its the mom that gets custody. How did you manage that?
JACK
(uneasy)
Well lets just say that my ex-wife is not the best parent all the time. She does have her moment but the courts decided it was best for the kids to be with me.
MIKE
(encouraging)
Well good for you buddy. Lets you get you a drink. Hey, excuse me, Miss! Can we get this guy… What are you drinking?
JACK
Beers fine.
MIKE
Get this guy the biggest beer ya got OK? Great, thanks.
JACK
Thanks.
KELLY
So Jack, have you been seeing anyone lately?
JACK
No, not really. I don’t get out much so it’s hard to really date, ya know?
KELLY
(flirty)
Well thats too bad. You seem like you’re a good man. I’m surprised no ones scooped you up.
KELLY leans in towards JACK, smiles, raises her eyebrow and puts her hand on his leg.
JACK
(nervous)
Yeah… So… um…
KELLY
Don’t worry, I don’t bite. Not unless you ask me too.
JACK looks at SUE and MIKE. They are too busy flirting with each other to take notice of whats going on.
JACK
So! Why didn’t you want me to tell DAVID about our outing tonight?
SUE whips her head around at the sound of DAVIDS name.
SUE
(exasperated)
Oh please tell me you didn’t tell him did you?
JACK
(taken aback)

No, no not at all, I was just wondering why you guys don’t like him.
SUE
(upset)
That guy is a complete and utter douche bag who’s hornier than a couple or rabbits in heat. That asshole had the nerve to tell people that I slept with him. We went out on one date and it wasn’t even a date. He took me to a hotdog stand. I wouldn’t touch his dick with ten foot pole. He’s probably diseased. How can you stand sharing a cubicle with that guy?
JACK
I manage. He is a bit annoying though.
MIKE
Say, do you lovely ladies want to play a game of pool. We can play teams.
KELLY
Only If its boys versus girls.
All four get up and walk to the pool table. KELLY, clearly tipsy, swaggers over to the pool table, picks up and pool stick. She turns around looking at JACk and begins stroking the stick with her hand while staring at JACK intensely. JACK almost blushes and gulps. MIKE puts money into the table and racks the balls. “Crazy Bitch” by Buck Cherry begins to play. The girls start dancing seductively with each other and keep glancing over at JACK and MIKE smiling. MIKE walks next to JACK looking at the girls smiling and nudges JACK with his elbow.
MIKE
Looks like we’re getting lucky tonight, huh buddy?
JACK smiles nervously
SUE
You guys break, ok?
Mike grabs the cue ball and places it strategically on the table, takes aim and breaks but no balls sink into the pocket.
KELLY
My turn.
KELLY takes aim and misses the 12 ball and hits the 8 ball into the pocket.
KELLY
Whoops, I think I should get a do over.
SUE walks over to KELLY and whispers something in her ear. KELLY gets a mischievous look on her face and nods.
SUE
Hey, do you guys want to make this interesting?
MIKE
Depends on what your idea of interesting is.
KELLY and SUE exchange glances.
SUE
You guys win and we’ll do anything you want us to do, but if we win you have to do anything we want. Deal?
Mike nudges JACK
MIKE
(excitedly whispering)
We can take them. Lets do it buddy.
JACK
I don’t know. It seems like a setup.
MIKE
You worry to much.
JACK
Don’t…
MIKE
(confident)
It’s a deal.
The girls giggle and high five each other.
KELLY
Great. Can we break?
MIKE
Sure.
KELLY walks by JACK and grabs his butt. JACK doesn’t expect this and slightly jumps. JACK turns to look and KELLY. KElly gives him a wink. JACK blushes. KELLY lines up her shot and breaks sinking several balls.
KELLY
(confident)
So I guess we’re solids.
MIKE and JACK stare slack jawed.
MIKE
I may have underestimated the ladies.
JACK
Ya THINK!
KELLY smiles and walks around the table to take her next shot. Cut to several different shots of KELLY lining up a shot and shooting and sinking the ball. JACK and MIKE are still amazed. KELLY walks around to table to make the final shot for the eight ball. She likes up the shot, looks up at the guys, winks, and takes the shot. Predictably she makes the shot. KELLY smiles and walks up to the guys. SUE walks with her arm in arm.
KELLY
So, I think we won the game and the bet.
MIKE
(excited)
You hustled us?
KELLY
(innocently)
I don’t know what you’re talking about.
MIKE
You knew from the start that you could kick out asses. How is that fair?
SUE
Hey, who said life if fair?
MIKE
But… you… how… ya know…
SUE
(coyly)
Cat got your tongue?
SUE walks over to MIKE and caress his face with one finger and traces it down his body. MIKE is stricken with awe.
KELLY
It was a fair game, wasn’t it JACK?
JACK
(flustered)
I guess but it depends on what you would consider fair. I mean you did win the game but I think the pretense for the bet was rigged so if you really look at it…
KELLY
You guys are just trying to welch on the bet. Come on we’ll be nice.
SUE
(slyly)
So what should we have them do first?
KELLY
I’m thirsty so I could use a drink.
MIKE
I think we can handle that. What’ll it be ladies
KELLY
How about we go back to my place and get a drink there?
SUE
Sound good to me. Come gentlemen. We’re off to Kelly’s. Just follow us.
MIKE gives JACK an excited look and nods.

CUT TO:

EXT. KELLYS APARTMENT BUILDING – NIGHT
MIKE and JACK exit the car and walk up the KELLY and SUE who are walking into the apartment building. A door man opens the door, glances and smirks at the four entering.

CUT TO:

INT. KELLYS APARTMENT BUILDING – CONTINUOUS
KELLY hits the elevator button.
KELLY
(cocky)
So this is my building. Got it in the divorce. Schmuck never knew what hit him.
JACK
Very impressive. How love have you lived here?
KELLY
A few years. I loved the neighborhood so when the divorce was final I used the money I got to buy this place.
MIKE
If you have so much money why do you work at the paper?
The elevator opens and the three step in.
INT. ELEVATOR – CONTINUOUS
KELLY
Well I tried not working but it just isn’t for me so I though what would be the best job in the world?
JACK
And all you could come up with was working at the paper.
KELLY
Hardly. I tried different jobs. I was a flight attendant and a bartender. I even tried being a wedding planner but after it all I found that working at the Daily to be the most fun.
MIKE
You have an odd description of fun.
The elevator stops and the doors open. The four exit the elevator and follow KELLY down the hall to her apartment. KELLY unlocks the door.
INT. KELLYS APARTMENT – CONTINUOUS
Kelly walks in the door and places her keys and purse on a table by the door. The apartment is large and open with white carpets and walls. Copies of famous artworks are adorned on her walls. JACK and MIKE are impressed. The walk in and sit on the plush red couch while KELLY and SUE walk to the kitchen and start getting drinks ready.
MIKE
(whispering)
Man, KELLY is loaded. If you don’t seal the deal with her I might go after her.
JACK
Whatever.
KELLY (BG)
I hope you guys like martinis. It’s all I’ve got. I don’t drink much else.
JACK
Yeah, thats fine
KELLY and SUE walk into the living room with the martini’s and hands them to the guys.
MIKE
So seeing as we lost and all what will you have us do?
KELLY gives SUE a wicked smile.
KELLY
Well lets first have a drink and relax. Here’s to good company
SUE
Here, Here.
JACK
Cheers
They all drink. KELLY and JACK finish their drink in one gulp.
SUE
Slow down you two the nights still young.
Everyone laughs
The camera moves slowly around the group as they talk and laugh about various topics intercut with shots of their glasses being refilled then empty. The talking turns more one on one with MIKE talking with SUE and KELLY talking to JACK. Kelly is slowly getting closer to JACK and is obviously drunk. KELLY leans into JACK and whispers into his ear.
KELLY
(whispering and slurring)
I wanna show you something
KELLY stands up and motions with her finger to have JACK follow her. MIKE and SUE are in the background already kissing on the other couch. JACK gets up and follow KELLY. She leads him to the bedroom.

CUT TO:

INT. KELLYS BEDROOM – CONTINUOUS
KELY walks in with JACK following behind her. She grabs his hands and leads him over to the bed. She pushes JACK onto the bed. He sits down and nearly falls back.
KELLY
Stay right there I wanna show you something.
KELLY goes into the adjoining bathroom.
KELLY
So what made you decide to come out tonight?
JACK
I just figured that since my kids are with their mother for the week that I’d have a night out without having a curfew.
KELLY
Look at you, mister responsible. Well mister r I’m going to give you a reward for being so responsible.
KELLY walks out wearing a black see through baby doll.
KELLY
(seductively)
So I saw this in the store the other day and decided that I just had to have it. What do you think?
JACK
(dumbfounded)
I… wow… uh… I, I think I gotta go.
JACK attempts to get up. KELLY stops him and hushes him.
KELLY
No, no, no. You lost the bet. You have to do what I say for the night and right now I want your opinion. What do you think of my new baby doll?
JACK
(flustered)
I… I… I… Its very uh… elegant.
KELLY
I’m glad you like it.
KELLY grabs JACKS hand and caresses her body with his hand. JACK jerks back his hand and quickly gets up.
JACK
(nervous)
Look, KELLY, I like you a lot but I’m not the kind of guy to sleep with someone on the first day or even on the first non date. Look I have way too much respect for you to sleep with you tonight.
KELLY
(drunkenly)
Why do you gotta to respect me shit?
KELLY walks over to JACK and kisses him deeply while grabbing his body. JACK breaks off and looks at KELLY.
KELLY
Just go with it. It’ll be alright.
JACK
Ah, fuck it.
JACK kisses her deeply. He picks her up and carries her over to the bed. He lays her on the bed looks KELLY in the eyes and kisses her again. They roll over with KELLY straddling JACK. She opens his shirt and kissed down his chest. At the same time she is unbuttoning his pants. She pulls his pants off of him giggling and almost falling over. She reaches for his boxers and stares right in JACK eyes.
KELLY
Are you ready for this?
JACK
(panting)
Yeah.
She start pulling his boxers down while kissing his stomach and moves down and then jumps back.
KELLY
(shock surprised and disgusted)
What the fuck!
JACK is lying there naked but he has no penis. He resembles a ken doll. KELLY starts laughing uncontrollably while pointing. Suddenly MIKE and SUE are in the room and look at JACK and they begin to laugh as well pointing at where JACKS penis should be. The laughing is echoing around JACK and he starts to hyperventilate.

QUICK CUT TO:

INT. JACKS BEDROOM – MORNING
JACK sits straight up out of bed panting with the echos of laughing still in his ears. He quickly looks down at his crotch to make sure he still has a penis. He sighs with relief and then plops back to sleep.

FADE OUT.

FADE IN:

EXT. DENVER DAILY NEWS OFFICE – MORNING

CUT TO:

INT. DENVER DAILY NEWS OFFICE – JACKS DESK – CONTINUOUS
JACK sitting at his desk working when DAVID walks up behind him.
DAVID
So whats up playa. Did did you seal the deal with KELLY?
JACK
(defeated)
No.
DAVID
(shocked)
What? Why not. If you weren’t gonna do it then shit man I would have. Give me a minute and I would had that girl eating out of the palm of my hand.
JACK
(under his breath sarcastically)
Yeah right.

DAVID
So what happened man? Come on, gimmie the details. Is she like a freak or scarred or something?
JACK
No it was nothing like that.
DAVID
Then what man? It had to be something serious for you not to tap that fine ass.
JACK
(exasperated)
Look, I didn’t have a good time is all ok? I’m just not the kind of person who goes around and has a bunch of meaningless sex. I find it pointless, honestly.
DAVID
Dude, are you gay? Its cool if you are man, I got a lot of gay friends that are always trying to turn me to the gay side.
JACK
No I’m not gay. I just don’t see the point in random meaningless sex. I like there to be some kind of emotional connection with someone when we have sex. Otherwise you’re just getting off to get off and doesn’t feel as good.
DAVID
Dude, seriously. You’re starting to sound like a chick.
JACK
(frustrated)
Well then maybe I am. Have you ever thought of that?
DAVID
Pssh. Come on man. Look its all good that you don’t like to fuck for the sake of fucking.
JACK
Thank you.
DAVID
It just means you have a vagina
JACK
What? Man, leave me alone.
DAVID
Well not like a real one, more like a figurative one. Heh, I’m dubbing you with an honorary vagina. HA HA
DAVID smacks JACK on the back in jest.
JACK
Whatever. Oh and by the way. I saw SUE last night.
DAVID
Oh yeah? What’d she have to say about me.
JACK
(cocky)
That she wouldn’t touch you with a 10 foot pole and that she found you disgusting.
DAVID
Wow that’s harsh. Well at least I was able to tap that ass, as lame as it was. Sex is sex.
JACK
(annoyed)
Yeah, I bet
Jack goes back to working in peace. JACK’s phone rings.
JACK
Op Ed. This is Jack? (beat) Oh hi Jenna. (beat) That’s today? (beat) Well of course I know its her last game of the year (beat) look don’t talk to me about parenting (beat) Well I guess the judge disagrees with your assessment which is why I have primary custody (beat) No I’ll be there. (beat) yeah whatever.
JACK slams the phone down picks up his bag and heads out of the office.

CUT TO:

EXT. SOCCER FIELD – AFTERNOON
Jack exits his car and starts walking towards the cheering crowd on the soccer field. The crowd erupts into a large celebration. Jack starts to job to the field. He gets to the field and see the other parents of his daughters soccer team.
FATHER 1
Hey JACK, nice to see you. I think I saw JENNA over by the bleachers.
JACK
Thanks
JACK makes his way over to to the bleachers where he see JENNA watching the game cheering and MAX is running around with the other younger kids. MAX see his dad and becomes excited and begins to run towards JACK. JACK smiles and as MAX gets to him he picks him up and lifts him up into the air smiling.
JACK
(excited)
Hey there buddy, I missed you. How are you.
MAX
(excited)
Hey dad. I missed you too. BROOKLYN’S playing soccer and she’s really good. She even got the ball in the net past the other girl. It was so funny.
JACK
That sounds pretty awesome buddy. I’m sorry I missed it.
MAX
Yeah and then there was this other girl who tried to push BROOKLYN but she ran and the other girl missed and the other girl fell down.
JACK
Well its a good thing no one got hurt huh?
MAX
Yep
JACK
So have you been having a good time with you mom?
MAX
Oh yeah but I got in trouble.
JACK
Why? What did you do?
MAX
Well I was playing and BLAKE told me to put my dish away and I didn’t hear him so he gave me a time out.
JACK
(angry)
Who’s BLAKE?
MAX
Mommy says that BLAKES gonna be our new step dad.
JACK
(irritated and angry)
Oh really. I’m gonna go talk to mommy. Why don’t you go play some more ok?
MAX
(happy)
Ok dad.
JACK walks over to JENNA who’s sitting next to BLAKE who’s 5’8” with shaggy brown hair and large glasses that are clearly transitions and is wearing an ARMY t-shirt and and a 9/11 never forget hat. JENNA sees JACK and her smile immediately turns to contempt.
JENNA
(sarcastically)
Glad to see you could finally make it.
JACK
(upset)
Yeah well being that I was at WORK making money to provide for the kids I wasn’t exactly able to leave at a moments notice. Unfortunately no all of us can sit at home all day and do nothing but collect disability checks.
JENNA
(angry)
If thats the way you’re gonna talk to me then you’re going to have to go because I’m not putting up with your shit today.
JACK
(pissed)
Yeah well I’m sick of dealing with yours. Oh and who the hell is BLANE and why is he disciplining our children?
JENNA
(defensive)
BLAKE! is my boyfriend thank you and I would appreciate it if you’d show a little respect.
JACK
How long have you known this guy and you’ve already got him taking care of our kids? I don’t know him. I don’t know who he is or what his morals are and you tell me nothing. Thats pretty shitty.
Parents of the other players and children take notice of the fight and start leering.
JENNA
I don’t need to tell you everything going on in my life. It’s really none of your business anyways.
JACK
(infuriated)
When it regards my kids it is my business. For all I know this guy is a murdering psychopath.
JENNA
You know what JACK, fuck you and the high horse you rode in on ok. I’ll do what and who I what when I want and don’t have to check in with you anymore. Thats the beauty of divorce. I don’t have to listen to you be controlling anymore.
JACK
I can’t believe that you’d do this to the kids. This just proves that they are better off with me.
JENNA
Yeah well thats gonna change soon.
JENNA pulls out a manila envelope out of her purse and hands it to JACK. The game has just ended and BROOKLYNS team has won. BROOKLYN runs up to JENNA and JACK excited.
BROOKLYN
(excited)
Mommy, daddy did you see it. We won we won!
JACK
(excited)
Yes, honey. You were fantastic. I’m so proud of you.
JENNA
(irritated)
Yes honey thats nice. Go grab your stuff its time to go home.
BROOKLYN
(upset)
But everyone else is going to go get ice cream to celebrate.
JENNA
Well honey I have things to do and we can’t go. I’m sorry.
BROOKLYN
Well why can’t daddy take me?
JENNA
(frustrated)
Because he has to get back to work.
JACK
(irritated)
I’ll speak for myself thank you and honey I would love to take you to go get ice cream with your teammates.
BROOKLYN
See mommy he said he’ll do it.
JENNA
What about MAX huh? I guess he’ll just go with me and miss out then and it’ll be unfair to him.
JACK
Don’t you dare and try to manipulate her. I will take MAX too.
JENNA
Fine, whatever just make sure they’re back at my house by 6:30.
JACK
(annoyed)
Yeah sure.
JENNA grabs her things and start walking towards the parking lot BLAKE following her. She turns around back towards JACK
JENNA
Are you going to feed them before you drop them off.
JACK
of course.

JENNA turns back around and walks to the parking lot. JACK turns around and picks up MAX and and gives BROOKLYN a hug. They walk together to the group of kids celebrating.

CUT TO:

INT. ICE CREAM SHOP – AFTERNOON
Jack enters the ice cream shop from outside. The shop is filled with kids running around and picking out what flavor they want. Their parents standing back waiting for them to choose. One of BROOKLYN’S teammates runs up to BROOKLYN.
TEAMMATE 1
Hey BROOKLYN, you came huh?
BROOKLYN
Yeah, my dad brought me.
TEAMMATE 1
Was that you mom at the game?
BROOKLYN
Yeah. I’m at my moms house for spring break. She took me to the game
TEAMMATE 1
Cool. Come pick out what flavor you want with me.
BROOKLYN
Ok
JACK
Hurry up honey, there are other people are waiting.
BROOKLYN
Ok daddy.
BROOKLYN runs off with her teammate to look at the different flavors. JACK walks up to display case to choose one for MAX.
JACK
What kind do you want buddy?
MAX climbs up the step at the base of the case to see what he wants.
MAX
(excited)
I want the green one!
JACK
Ok buddy I’ll get you the green one.
The cashier walks over to JACK
CASHIER
What can I get you?
JACK
Can I get one scoop of mint and… BROOKLYN, what kind do you want?
BROOKLYN
Um… can I have strawberry
JACK
and another scoop of strawberry.
CASHIER
Do you want that in cups or cones?
JACK
Cups are fine.
The server gets the ice cream for them and hands JACK the cup of mint and hands BROOKLYN the cup of strawberry. BROOKLYN grabs the cup and runs off to sit with her friends.
CASHIER
Is there anything else I can get you?
JACK
Nope, that’ll do it.
CASHIER
Ok
The cashier rings up the ice cream.
CASHIER
That’ll be 5.70 please.
JACK pays the cashier. Turns around and hands MAX his cup of ice cream. MAX excitedly grabs it and heads over to an empty table. JACK follows him and sits down. A woman walks up. She is 5’7” Light brown shoulder length hair, stone blue eyes. Very beautiful face. Average build. She is wearing white collates and a peach button up shirt. Also wearing a white sun visor. Typical soccer mom comes to mind. Her name is CHOLE. She stops in front of JACK
CHOLE
Hi, I’m CHOLE. I’m Jessi’s mom. Number 14. I just wanted to come by and introduce myself.
JACK
Oh, yeah. Hi I’m JACK and this is my son MAX.
CHOLE
(giggling)
I know. (beat) so I wanted to say that I’m sorry and that I hope you don’t feel embarrassed about earlier. A lot of us are divorcee’s and know what its like.
JACK
Yeah, not really. I don’t actively try to cause drama but my ex makes it nearly impossible.
CHOLE
Oh tell me about it, right? My ex husband is always looking to start a fight over the littlest things. So I wanted to ask, what are you plans for this weekend?
JACK
Not much really. My kids will still be at their mothers and I don’t really go out much. The bar scene just isn’t my cup of tea.
CHOLE
Oh I can totally understand that. I’m not much for bars either. (scoffs) in fact thats where I met my ex husband. But no, I was wondering because a bunch of us like to get together on every other Saturday and go to Cuppa Joe’s and talk. Would you like to join us this weekend?
JACK
Um, I’m not too sure. I have a dead line at work that I need to finish and I might need to work on it over the weekend.
CHOLE
(flirty)
Aw come on. It’ll be fun. It’ll give you a much needed break from work and kids.
JACK
I’ll see what I can do.
CHOLE
Great. Why don’t I give you my number and you can let me know if you can make it or not.
JACK
(wearily)
Ok.
CHOLE grabs a pen and paper out of her purse and writes her number down and hands it to JACK.
CHOLE
(slyly)
So here’s my number. Call me whenever on Saturday and let me know or you can call me before that if you’d like.
CHOLE smiles wickedly and winks at JACK. JACK gives an uncomfortable smile back. CHOLE walks away. BROOKLYN runs up to JACK.
BROOKLYN
Hey daddy, can I spend the night at Jessi’s house tonight? Her mom said it was ok.
JACK looks over at CHOLE she sees him looking at her and smiles and gives an inquisitive look.
JACK
Well honey if it was up to me I’d say yes but this week is for you to spend time with your mom and I don’t think she’d appreciate it if you didn’t spend this week with her.
BROOKLYN
Can you call her and ask her?
JACK
Honey, I know you’re excited that you can go over there but I think the best thing would be for you to stay with your mom this week.
BROOKLYN
(pouting)
But I see mom all the time. I barely ever get to do anything fun.
JACK
Ok, I’ll call your mom and ask. Give me a minute.
JACK takes out his phone and calls JENNA. The phone rings with no one picking up. He hangs up and calls again. Again the phone rings with no answer. JACK waits for the voicemail to answer.
JENNA (VO)
(happy)
Hi this is JENNA leave me a message.
JACK
Hi JENNA its me. BROOKLYN wanted to spend the night at a friends house tonight. We’re about to finish up here so if you could call me in the next 5 minutes to let me know if its ok or not that’d be great. If I don’t hear from you I’m gonna let her go, ok? bye.
Jack hangs up the phone.
BROOKLYN
(hopeful)
What did she say?
JACK
She didn’t answer but I let her know that if she doesn’t call in the next 5 minutes that you’re gonna go. Ok?
BROOKLYN
(excited)
Awesome! I hope she doesn’t call
JACK
(upset)
BROOKLYN MAY HOWSER, I’m surprised at you. Thats the wrong kind of attitude young lady. Straighten it up or no matter whether she calls or not, you won’t be going anywhere.
BROOKLYN
(sad)
Sorry dad.
JACK
Ok, but I don’t want to hear you talk like that again. It’s disrespectful to your mother regardless is she hears it or not.
BROOKLYN
Ok
JACK
Go talk with you’re friends while we wait, ok?
BROOKLYN
Ok
BROOKLYN goes back over to the table where Jessi and her other teammates are sitting. JACKS phone rings
JACK
Hello
JENNA (ON PHONE)
(pissed off)
Thanks for automatically assuming that I don’t have any plans with the kids. Now I bet BROOKLYN wont want to come home.
JACK
(calm and quiet)
Look I tried to call you, twice even and you didn’t answer your phone so I left you a message.
JENNA (ON PHONE)
(pissed off)
Yeah and you gave me a whole 5 minutes to responds. You know what fine whatever let her do whatever she wants just like you always let her.
JACK
I don’t know what you’re talking about but fine. I’ll let her know that she can go and I’ll be by to drop MAX off in about a half an hour.
JENNA
(irritated)
(scoffs) Well that wont work for me. I’m not even home yet. Blake and I decided to go out to dinner so we won’t be home for at least an hour.
JACK
(irritated and quiet)
Ok so let me get this straight, your pissed about me letting BROOKLYN got stay at her friends but you’re not even going to be home like you said you would because you went out to dinner? And you think I’m the shitty parent.
JENNA
You know what JACK…
JACK hangs up the phone and shoves it into his pocket irritated. He gets up and walks over to BROOKLYNS table.
JACK
Guess what honey? Your mom said it was fine and you can spend the night at Jessi’s.
CHOLE walks up behind JACK and overhears what he said.
CHOLE
Well thats great to hear. BROOKLYN will have a great time. Is there anything I should know? Is she allergic to anything?

JACK
Not that we’ve found but she isn’t a fan of peas.
CHOLE
Oh well I don’t think we’ll have to worry about that. Well since she’s coming over why don’t I get your number just in case I need to call you for anything. You’ve already got mine.
JACK
(defeated)
Yeah ok. My number is 303-555-4267
CHOLE
Great. Well girls are you ready to go?
JESSI
(excited)
Yea.
BROOKLYN
Yes Miss CALDWELL.
CHOLE
Oh honey, you don’t have to call me that. CHOLE is fine.
BROOKLYN
Ok Miss CHOLE.
BROOKLYN walks over to JACK and give him a hug.
BROOKLYN
Bye daddy. Thank you for letting me go.
JACK
No problem honey. Just make sure you’re good and mind your manners.
CHOLE
Oh I don’t think you’ll have anything to worry about. They’ll have a great time.
JACK
Yeah, well thanks for inviting her and I’ll have her mom come pick her up tomorrow.
CHOLE
(disappointed)
Oh, you won’t be picking her up?
JACK
No, I have work and its her mom’s week with them.
CHOLE
Oh, ok, no problem. Don’t forget to let me know about Saturday OK?
JACK
Yeah. No problem.
The girls exit the ice cream store arm in arm with CHLOE following behind. JACK turns to MAX.
JACK
Well buddy, are you ready to go back to your moms?
MAX
But wheres Brooky going?
JACK
She’s going to spend the night at a friends ok?
MAX
(disappointed)
Ok.
JACK
Ok, come on. Lets go.
JACK and MAX exit the store hand in hand.

CUT TO:

INT. JACKS HOUSE – LIVING ROOM – EVENING
Jack walks through the front door, sets his keys on the end table and picks up the mail sitting there. He goes through his mail and then walks to the desk and sits down in front of his computer. JACK goes through his emails and sees that there is a new message from KRISTI from Connections. He opens the email. At the top there is a picture of a pretty blond who obviously took the picture using her bathroom mirror and a camera from her phone. JACK reads the email.
KRISTI (VO)
Hi, My name’s KRISTI. I’m not really sure what to say in these things but you seemed interesting and wanted to say hi. I’m not much for these online personals so if you are ever go to Rack ‘em Up pool hall you can usually find me there. Maybe I’ll see you there some time. Take care. KRISTI.

Jack sits back and ponders the email for a moment. He looks at the clock. It reads 8:30.
JACK
Ah, what the hell.
Jack gets up. Pulls his phone out of his pocket and starts dialing.
JACK
Hey Therese. (beat) I’m fine. (beat) Yes really. Say, you wanna go shoot some pool tonight? (beat) Rack ‘em Up. (beat) I’ll buy you booze. (beat) Great. See you in 30 minutes.
Jack hangs up the phone and walks over to the closet and opens it. He pulls out an old beat up pool cue case. He blows the dust off of it closes the door and heads for the front door picking up his keys on the way out.

CUT TO:

INT. RACK ‘EM UP POOL HALL – NIGHT
The pool hall is moderately lit by the lights hovering above the 20 pool tables. The are lined up In 4 rows of 5 with chairs and benches in between each row. Many different types of people are present. Rednecks, high school kids, club bunnies, gangster wannabe’s, and serious pool players. A waitress with blonde hair and wearing tight blue jeans and red very low cut shirt is hustling around taking and delivering orders. JACK walks in looks around fro THERESE and makes his way to an empty table by the back corner. He sets his pool cue case on the pool table and grabs some quarters out of his pocket. He inserts the quarters into the coin slot of the pool table and balls drop. He racks the balls then takes his pool stick out of its case and screws it together. The waitress makes her way over to JACK.
WAITRESS
Can I get you anything hun?
JACK
Just a beer for now.
WAITRESS
No problem sweetie.
The waitress walks away. JACK lines up the cue ball and takes aim. Just as he takes his shot
THERESE
(excited and loud)
Surprise!
JACK hits the cue ball and it flies off the table and slams into the wall bouncing off and rolling the opposite direction and stopping at THERESE’s feet.
JACK
(scared)
Fuck THERESE, you scared the shit outta me.
THERESE
(giggling)
Sir did you drop this? (laughs) So what are we doing here huh? Are you meeting a girl and don’t wanna do it alone?
JACK
(stammering defensively)
Yes… No… Maybe… I don’t know.
THERESE
(sarcastically sweet)
Ok, ok calm down its ok I’m here. Mama’s here.
JACK
(snickering but embarrassed)
Shut up T. Ok look. I got home tonight and there was a message from this woman from the singles website I’m on.
THERESE
(jokingly swooning)
Oh, Connections, Where every ending is a happy one, or your money back.
THERESE make a gagging noise and face.
JACK
(annoyed)
Ok I new I shouldn’t have invited you. You know what, just forget it.
THERESE
Aw come on Jackie. You know I’m just messing with ya. So tell me about this girl. Is she cute. Does she like kids. Is she annoying. Tell me tell me.
JACK
(embarrassed)
Well actually I haven’t actually met her yet. I just read the message tonight and she said that she comes here often.
THERESE
Well is she at least hot? You know I wont let you date anyone who doesn’t meet my approval.
JACK
(sarcastically)
Yeah I know. Thanks mom.
THERESE
Hey, who was the one who picked you up, dusted you off and put you back together after your divorce?
JACK
You were.
THERESE
And what about TARA. Who was there when she when all crazy and dumped you?
JACK
You
THERESE
Right, so I think I should have some sort of say in who you date. Don’t you think?
JACK
I guess so.
THERESE
I’m just making sure you don’t get hurt again. I love you Jackie. You’re my best friend and I’m watching out for you.
JACK
I know.
THERESE
And I’m still kinda pissed off that you didn’t let me kick TARA’s ass when I had the chance.
JACK
You would’ve gone to jail!
THERESE
(snickering)
Nah, Fuck that. It’d have been self defense, at least that what it would’ve look like.
JACK
(laughing)
Yeah I bet.
The waitress walks up and hands JACK his beer.
WAITRESS
There ya go sweetie. How about you miss. Can I get you anything?
THERESE
(seductively)
Why yes, will you give me a slow comfortable screw?
JACK
Are we having a dry spell there T?
THERESE
You know me?
WAITRESS
(flirty)
Is there anything else I can get you?
THERESE
(seductively)
You can give my anything thing you want.
The waitress smiles, winks at THERESE and walks away.
THERESE
So I think I’ll be getting lucky tonight. Lets see if the same can be said for you.
JACK
You know she’s only doing that to get a good tip, right?
THERESE
Oh, I’ll give her a good tip alright.
JACK
You’re incorrigible.
THERESE
I know, but you still love me.
JACK
God knows why.
THERESE
So anyways. Tell me more about this chick. Tell me she’s at least cute.
JACK
She did look pretty good in her online photo.
THERESE
Oh, show me.
JACK
Ok, hold on
JACK pulls out his phone and logs into his email on his phone. He brings up the picture that was in the email that was sent to him.
JACK
Here.
JACK hands the phone to THERESE.
THERESE
(shocked)
Wow, I’m kinda impressed. She’s pretty cute. What the hell does she see in you?
JACK
Gee, Thanks
THERESE
You’re welcome. But seriously you should find this girl and marry her.
JACK
I’ve had enough of being married thank you.
THERESE
Don’t gimme that bull shit. How long were you with TARA before you proposed to her?
JACK
8 months.
THERESE
(scolding)
Jackie…
JACK
4, ok?
THERESE
Exactly so just go for it. Lets see if she’s here.
JACK
I didn’t see her when I walked in.
THERESE
Then you weren’t looking hard enough
The waitress walks up with THERESE’s drink.
WAITRESS
(flirty)
Here ya are darling. Will that be all?
THERESE
Actually no, theres this girl I’m looking for. Jackie, whats her name?
JACK
KRISTI
THERESE
You wouldn’t by chance know her?
WAITRESS
Oh yeah, she’s in here all the time. I haven’t seen her tonight but I’ll let her know you’re looking for her.
THERESE
Thanks. By the way what are you doing later?
WAITRESS
You, hopefully.
THERESE
(excited)
Nice. Here’s my card. Call me when you get off.
WAITRESS
(seductively)
Definitely.
THERESE winks at the waitress as she smiles and walks off.
JACK
(frustrated)
Now why the fuck can’t I do shit like that?
THERESE
Because you’re too nice a guy.
JACK
Ok, so what? Do I need to become an asshole or something?
THERESE
(laughing)
I don’t think you could be if you tried. Besides I wouldn’t be your friend if you were.
JACK
Fine. Well are we gonna play or what?
THERESE
You know I’m no good at pool.
JACK
Fine.
Jack takes his shot and breaks. The rainbow colors of balls fly all over the table. A woman walks up behind JACK. She’s 5’4” long blonde hair and blue eyes. Her hair is pulled up into a pony tail. She’s wearing a form fitting low cut white top, black jeans and mary jane’s. She’s carrying a pool cue case.
KRISTI
Nice shot.

Leave a Reply

