Life, writing, etc.

Progress


So progress on the comic is coming along. Story boards are looking pretty good and this is looking like we’re gonna make something great. Now we were going to do a graphic novel but its gonna take phases to get it out so we’ve decided to make a web comic.

Now I know there are thousands upon thousands of web comics out there, but Cleo and I have been toying around with this idea for a while and we really think it’ll take off. It’s has been described as a combination between Questionable Content and Girls With Slingshots.

I’m really looking forward to getting this up and running. Since we’re going the web comic route I now need to build a site for it. I have several options for building it but being that my skills at building a site have gone the way of the dodo in my older years I’m at a loss at where to start.

Right now my options are iWeb, Dreamweaver, and Rapidweaver. I’ve used iWeb and Rapidweaver in the past with positive results but that was a few years ago. I’m going to have to weigh the pros and cons of each and see which one will suit me best for what I’m going to do. If anyone has any opinions please let me know.

In the mean time I’ll just keep churning out scripts for the comic. One thing that I’ve noticed with a lot of the web comics I read is that the writers get backed up and usually are drawing the comic and script either the night before or the same day it gets posted. To combat that Cleo and I’ve decided that we’re going to have a 30 day buffer just in case something goes wrong, we get artist block, vacation, real work gets in the way, etc.

I hope to have this live by mid August. If things keep going they way they are we may be able to launch sooner.

One last note. I follow Bryan Lee O’Malley on Twitter. For the uninitiated he writes the Scott Pligrim and he retweeted this article I found very interesting. Its about how we writers write a certain way about a characters and how Bryan was able to not necessarily transcend it but definitely do it in a different way that is rarely seen. Aside from the review of the book he makes some very good point on how people write their stories and how they’re too formulated now a days. Its makes some good points.

Well I’m need to get started on more scripts so until next time.

-Mondo

Leave a Reply

