Life, writing, etc.

If You Can Make It Here…


One of my guilty pleasures in life is watching the TV show Glee. I don’t know why I like it but I do. I was finally able to watch the season premiere last night and it was entertaining. One of the song choices they used was Empire State of Mind by Jay-Z. Its essentially a song about New York. I’ve heard this song before and I’ve always liked it. Well once I heard it again I decided that i wanted to listen to the real song so I went to the interwebs and downloaded it.

After downloading that I then got on a music kick and downloaded a bunch of other songs and albums that I wanted. After everything was done downloading and imported into iTunes I listened to the song that started this quest for music. I love this song and it gave me nostalgic feelings of when I was younger.

When I was 16 I went to New York to visit some family from both my moms side and my step-fathers. We arrived in Newark and stayed in Jersey with my aunt. The next day we went into the city. We didn’t really do a lot of sight seeing but we walked around the city and I was just amazed. As soon as I stepped off the bus I was in love and knew that one day I would live here. The next day we met my uncle in the Village for lunch. Even though I had only been here just the day before, I was already acting like a New Yorker. The trip ended too quickly but I left with a desire and passion to one day live there.

After the song finished playing and I was done reminiscing I was reminded of another song that was very inspirational when I was about to leave high school. Its called Everybody’s Free (to Wear Sunscreen) by Baz Luhrmann. It was played quite frequently on the radio and its really makes you think about the future. This combined with Empire State of Mind made me remember how much I really wanted to live in New York.

wpid-new-york-skyline-at-night-2010-09-24-16-462.jpg

I think I lost my desire to live there after 9/11. When the whole thing happened it shook everyone up and it wasn’t that I was scared to live there but the whole feeling of the city had changed. It wasn’t the city I had remembered and I didn’t want to live there anymore. I decided at that point to move to the second city, Chicago. Well its been 9 years since the attack and its back to its same old glory that I remember. I’m no longer wanted to live in Chicago. I’m taking up my old stance and changing my choice back to New York. The city so nice they named it twice. If you can make it there you can make it anywhere. So I’m saying goodbye to the thoughts of living in San Francisco, Portland, Seattle, and Chicago. I left my Heart in New York and I’m going to make it there one day. It may not be in a year. It may not be in 10 years but one day I’ll get there.

-Mondo

Leave a Reply

